Visit to the Travellers Club – Saturday 24th September 2016 at 2.30 pm
The original concept of The Travellers Club, founded in 1819, dates from the return of peace in Europe following the Napoleonic Wars. Lord Castlereagh envisaged a club where gentlemen who travelled abroad might meet and offer hospitality to distinguished foreign visitors. The Club has many foreign Ambassadors and High Commissioners amongst its members.
The club moved to its present clubhouse, designed by Charles Barry in 1832. The principal rooms still retain many of the original features, with examples of furniture and fittings designed by Barry himself. today, the library remains the room in the Clubhouse most closely associated with travel. Much admired by Lord Curzon as the perfect room for a library, it is generally regarded as one of the most charming rooms in London. The tour lasts approximately 2 hours and will cover the history of the Club, its architecture and art work.
The cost of the visit is £20.00 and includes tea and coffee.
Please complete the application form that was sent to members by post.