Registered charity 276264

Changes to Ward Boundaries

From time to time Local Government Boundary Commission reviews ward boundaries with the intention of ensuring that the number of electors per Councillor is about the same to take account of changing electoral rolls.

The Commission has just completed their review and submitted their final recommendations. The main changes for Chelsea are:

  • Brompton and Hans Town wards have been merged, but part of the former Hans Town ward has been ceded to an enlarged Royal Hospital ward. The new ward will probably maintain the current Hans Town councillors – Nicholas Paget-Brown, Tim Coleridge and Mary Weale who are all members of the Cabinet – whilst the relative new Councillors in the current Brompton ward will be looking for new seats;
  • Royal Hospital will gain the area south of Whitehead’s Grove and Cadogan Street.
  • Cremorne will in future be called Chelsea Riverside and will gain a small chunk from Royal Hospital
  • Stanley ward will remain much the same, but extend its boundary to Elystan Street.

Following approval of an order by Parliament, these boundaries will be used in the local elections next May.

The Local Government Boundary Commission’s full report and an interactive map of the final recommendations are available at


This site uses cookies to enhance your experience. By continuing to the site you accept their use. More info in our cookies policy.     ACCEPT
Registered Charity 276264. © 2024 The Chelsea Society. All rights reserved.
Scroll to top