EXTRA DATE: As the previous visit sold out so quickly we have now added a further date.
Merchant Taylors’ Hall has been on this same site since 1347. The entire Hall was burnt out in the Great Fire in 1666 then later rebuilt. The Dining Hall is still the same structure as it was before the Great Fire and so is the Kitchen. The present Parlour is likely to have been the Court Room which would give a common medieval layout. Visible medieval fabric on the tour will include the 14th-century crypt beneath the Beadle’s Office and the Kitchen built in the 1420s.
The present building is a mixture of many different periods, the magnificent Dining Hall and Drawing Room are part of post-war reconstruction. The 18th century Chinese wallpaper in the Drawing Room, purchased at auction in 1957, had never been used and was still in its original export boxes with Chinese markings. The charming courtyard was originally a much larger garden containing intricate flower beds known as “knottes”.
The tour will start at 11.30 am.
The cost of the visit is £15.00 and it is open to members only. Members must apply by using the postal form sent out in the recent mailing.
Location: Merchant Taylors’ Hall